A two-day national conference on ‘Trends in Modern Physics 2020 (TiMP 2020)’ was held on 24-25 February 2020 at Tapesia Campus. The Conference, organized by the Department of Physics was the second conference of its kind organized at the University.

For the inaugural session, Prof. Sudhakar Panda, FNA, NNASc, Director of NISER, was the Chief Guest while Prof. N. Nimai Singh, Head, Physics Department, Manipur University, and Prof. Dilip Kumar Choudhury, Retd. Professor of Physics Department, Gauhati University, were the Guests of Honour. Dr. Samrat Dey, Head of the Department of Physics, shed light on why the Physics Department is carrying out TiMPs in particular and all the events, in general. Dr. Debajyoti Dutta presented a brief overview of the conference. He also explained that the purpose of organising these annual conferences in Northeast India was for the young researchers of the region to share their ideas and also solicit suggestions and help from renowned academicians from various parts of the country. Dr. Monmoyuri Baruah, Director, SFAS and Prof. Atri Deshmukhya, Head, Physics Department, Assam University, also spoke on the occasion.

The inaugural session was followed by the plenary talk delivered by Prof. Sudhakar Panda who discussed about the possible scope and challenges in Physics, with a special focus on HEP.

The conference proceeded with five oral technical sessions with a number of invited talks and contributory talks dedicated to the trust areas – particle physics, astrophysics & cosmology, plasma physics, nuclear physics and material & nanophysics stretched during these two days. The invited speakers included Prof. N. Nimai Singh, Prof. Mrinal K. Das from Physics Department, Tezpur University, Prof. Atri Deshmukhya, Prof. Madhurjya P. Bora from Department of Physics, Gauhati University, Prof. B. N. Jyrwa from Physics Department, North-Eastern Hill University, Dr. Smruti Ranjan Mohanty from Centre of Plasma Physics – IPR and Prof. Sunandan Baruah. This was followed by an interactive poster presentation session wherein a large number of posters were presented.

In the valedictory session feedback from the participants were collected and vote of thanks was delivered by the convener Dr. Debajyoti Dutta. Dr. Ngangom Aomoa and Mr. Dipjyoti Sarma were the co-conveners in the conference where eighty participants from sixteen institutions of Northeast and other parts of India presented their research.