The 3rd Physics Department Foundation Day was celebrated on 1st April 2021 at Tapesia Campus. On this occasion, the “Academic Physics Prize 2021” was awarded to Prof. K. D. Krori, in recognition of his exemplary contribution to physics teaching and physics research. The selection committee consisted of three Physics Department Heads of different universities and other senior physicists.

The programme, held in the Auditorium began with a welcome song by MSc Physics final semester students, followed by short speeches from the Director of the School of Fundamental and Applied Sciences, Dr. Monmoyuri Baruah, HoD of the Department, Dr. Nganngom Aomoa, and Dr. Samrat Dey, former Head of the Department. The speeches were followed by the awarding ceremony of ‘Academic Physics Prize 2021’ to Prof. K.D. Krori. The award carries a prize money of Rs. 10,000. In his acceptance speech, Prof. Krori emphasised the importance of mathematics in physics citing examples of various physicists starting from Sir Newton to his own teacher, Prof. S. N. Bose. The programme ended with cake cutting and refreshments.